Confessions of a foodie

#4: Hazelnuts

Abbas Abbasov, PhD
2 min readFeb 18, 2018

As you might have already noticed, Confessions of a Foodie is not your typical food blog where I rave about different fancy restaurant meals I have tried. This is a place where I talk about purely human connection to food and describe my delightful food experiences. Today, I want to talk to you about hazelnuts — crunchy, chewy, and surprisingly sweet nibble food.

While I was on the Whole 30 diet, I found a renewed appreciation for all types of nuts and dried fruits but especially hazelnuts. During this past month, they were a treat that I could snack on endlessly in the absence of anything sweet and glutenous. Hazelnuts feel so light but are packed with nutrients such as magnesium, iron, Vitamin B-6 as well as potassium and protein.

Another reason, I’m such a huge fan of hazelnuts is that they remind me of home and bring back childhood memories of Novruz (pronounced as [Noveroose], ancient Zoroastrian practice, also known as Persian New Year). In anticipation of Novruz, candles are lit in every home representing a food item every Tuesday night. I remember helping my mom crack the shells of fresh and milky hazelnuts, so that she could prepare a plate to present on the feast table. Now every time I’m grinding hazelnuts in my mouth, I’m reminded of those care-free days.

--

--

Abbas Abbasov, PhD

Researcher studying higher education systems #highered #access #internationalization #postSoviet l lifelong learner, curious educator, outgoing introvert