In the footsteps of Abbasgulu

We all have different ways of searching for meaning in life. In doing so, we create personal narratives and build our own stories. My story is deeply intertwined with that of my grandpa, Abbasgulu’s life and publications. Unknowingly, he has left a legacy for me to follow and some big shoes to fill.

Abbas Abbasov, PhD
3 min readSep 6, 2021
Abbasgulu posing in the Navy uniform

The man in this black & white photograph is my grandpa, Abbasgulu Abbasov Razzakh oghlu. I was named after him because my father lost his parents at a very young age and wanted his children to be a reminder of them. Hence, my sister is also named after my grandmother, Zarifa. This essay is about that special bond I have with my grandpa.

I have never met Abbasgulu but grew up listening to so many memories of him retold by my father, my mother, our relatives that I feel like I know him. Yet as a kid I struggled with not being able to connect with my grandpa beyond his photographs and stories about him. Every time I looked at pictures of Abbasgulu, I saw a piece of myself in there. To this day, our relatives point out the resemblance between us, especially our similarity in stature and profile.

--

--

Abbas Abbasov, PhD

Researcher studying higher education systems #highered #access #internationalization #postSoviet l lifelong learner, curious educator, outgoing introvert